Caveman Colorado Music Festival

If you’re not familiar with the differences between American music awards and Americana awards, you’re not alone. The Americana Music Association has partnered with Circle Network to bring Americana music into homes across the country. Here are some examples. The Fisk Jubilee Singers, the Mavericks and Keb’ Mo’ have all received honors. 

(Caveman Music Colorado Festivals at Monument Lake Resort is the perfect place to grasp the last sun-soaked days of summer. Contact us for more details about the passes and packages.)


Lifetime Achievement honors are presented by the Fisk Jubilee Singers 

The Fisk University Jubilee Singers are one of the premier ensembles in Negro spiritual singing. The ensemble was founded in 1871 as a part of Fisk University, which was the first school of higher learning to offer a liberal arts education to all students. 

The Fisk Jubilee Singers have received numerous honors, including the prestigious Legacy of Americana Award. The award honors the choir’s 150-year history of excellence. The group, which is attached to Nashville’s Fisk University, is also a National Medal of Arts winner, Gospel Music Hall of Fame inductee, and winner of the Grammy Award for Best Roots Gospel Album. 

This year’s awards recognize four acts with long-term contributions to the music industry. The Jubilee Singers have fought diabetes and advocated for peace. Jars of Clay, meanwhile, helped provide clean water to rural areas in sub-Saharan Africa. The Fisk Jubilee Singers have supported the Monroe Carrell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt University and have raised more than $1 million for the hospital. 

Trailblazer honors are presented by the Mavericks 

The Mavericks are an eclectic rock-country-Latin band from Miami, Florida. The Grammys have recognized the group for its diverse sound. The group has been nominated for Duo/Group of the Year and received the Trailblazer Award in 2021. The Grammy nomination comes after the band released the all-Spanish album En Espanol in 2020. 

The Americana Music Association announced the award winners Tuesday. The eclectic rock-country-Latin band the Mavericks will receive the Trailblazer Award, while blues guitarist Keb’ Mo’ will receive the Performance Award. The Americana Honors will also honor the work of engineer Trina Shoemaker and vocalist Carla Thomas. In addition, the Fisk University choir, the Jubilee Singers, will receive the Legacy Award, presented by the National Museum of African American Music. The award recipients will be recognized at the Americana Honors ceremony on Sept. 22nd in Nashville. 

The Mavericks have produced eleven studio albums, one EP, six compilation albums, three live albums, and numerous singles. Twenty-seven singles have charted, and eighteen of them have received multiple Grammy nominations. They have also won the Trailblazer Award at the Americana Music Honors & Awards in 2021. 

Performance honors are presented by Keb’ Mo’ 

Keb’ Mo’ has been making music for nearly five decades. His new album, Good To Be, is a mix of soul, country, and blues. The new album is a celebration of Keb’s career, and features collaborations with Willie Nelson, Bonnie Raitt, and Lyle Lovett. 

In addition to being nominated for the Grammy’s, Keb’ Mo’ will receive the Lifetime Achievement in Performance Award from the Americana Music Association in 2021. The award was presented to him during the association’s 20th annual Honors and Awards show in Nashville. 

Known for his blues music, Keb’ Mo’ first gained fame in the early 1990s, when he started playing in a duo with the Jefferson Airplane’s violinist, Papa John Creach. During the next twenty years, Keb’ Mo’ continued to develop as a guitarist, songwriter, and arranger. In 1994, his self-titled debut album was released. He went on to win a GRAMMY for Best Contemporary Blues Album for Just Like You.